Peter Strong receives Bush Foundation SD Change Network Fellowship

Peter was one of fifteen emerging leaders from South Dakota selected to participate in the first cohort of the South Dakota Change Network, a program created by the Bush Foundation. He attended the first gathering from the 21st to the 24th of October in Pierre, South Dakota.

The cohort experience will offer forward-thinking South Dakotans an opportunity to build their self-awareness, leadership abilities, and systems-change skill sets. The other fellows are:

  • Jill Baker, Sioux Falls, human services with a focus on veterans;
  • Stacey Berry, Madison, English professor at DSU with interests in student equality;
  • Amy Hofer, Doland, finance manager interested in rural community involvement and volunteerism;
  • Jared Hybertson, Centerville, economic developer focused on rural community inclusion;
  • Patti Martinson, from Rapid City, focuses on social change through the arts;
  • Billy Mawhiney, Sioux Falls, youth director working on nonprofit connections;
  • Carla Miller, Sioux Falls, serving families and individuals with disabilities and chronic health issues;
  • Alli Moran, from Eagle Butte, is interested in secondary education for tribal youth;
  • Andrea Powers, from Hot Springs, is an economic developer focused on bringing young people to rural areas;
  • Traci Smith, Sioux Falls, interests in changes in the judicial system as a public defender;
  • Adam Strenge, Sioux Falls, SE Tech work on increasing student success in post-secondary education;  
  • Kelsea Kenzy Sutton, from Burke, is an attorney with interests in food security and public health;
  • Viola Waln, from Parmelee, is a journalist interested in affecting people through writing; 
  • Ernest Weston, from Porcupine, will be assisting first-year Native American students in colleges.

Executed through a partnership of National Arts Strategies, SDSU Extension Community Vitality, and Vision Maker Media, the Change Network cohort will provide a supportive environment to assist participants in leading change in a more equitable and inclusive manner.